Makeup Inspirations

My Updated Makeup with Eye-Glasses

In Glam Look Critique, Try-Out Makeup Looks on January 2, 2023 at 2:02 pm

I embarked on a glow up just in the lead up towards the New Year 2023. I was analysing some old photos and seeing how I could improve my cosmetic look (and with eye-glasses), which was really hard because it meant being more critical of myself, but I’m glad I did look at it from an objective viewpoint.

And I had the help of my close family. So here is the finished glow up:

What I did to improve myself in appearance, was choosing the correct false eyelashes for my eye shape and face.

My eyelashes are naturally short and curl up at the ends, but what they lacked was their thickness. And the build up with mascara wasn’t ideal, as they tend to flake and the amount of layers I would’ve had to put on to get the desired look wasn’t going to happen.

I had tried short wispy eyelashes but found that these didn’t do much for my eyes, and was fighting a battle with the direction of my own eyelashes: hence there was a gap between where I placed my eyelashes and where my natural eyelashes were, and one would be pointing up on one eye and the other downward that it looked wrong in photos.

I even tried magnetic false eyelashes, and cluster false eyelashes, but had the same problem of direction and lack of thickness. However, I loved the fact of using a pen to put the glue directly on my eyelids, as I could do this better than putting the glue on the strip of the false eyelash. As I got the glue everywhere! And could never get the tacky thing down to a tee.

So I didn’t wear false eyelashes that often.

However, as I had time over the holiday season, I decided to see what was new in the market. When sourcing false eyelashes on the market, I found one that was short and thick and curled up at the ends. I was going to stick to the wispy ones, that were popular on their website, as I thought these might be too thick, and on my face would look “club-y” or a “bat-wings” type of lash.

But my close family encouraged me to purchase them. And I’m so glad that I did! They go in the same direction of my natural eyelashes, so there appears no gap. As you can see in the photos, they bring out my eyes more with a sultry look!!

In addition, I now use a glue pen that is on the market, to apply the false eyelashes with, and the type I use is dry on application, I tried using the wet pen, but I ended up making a mess with the eyeliner, and would have to start again. So going forward, the glue pen (dry) works best for me!

I also glowed up with going heavier with the eyeshadow, as I felt that it was unfinished business. As I had made a new year’s resolution last year (2022) to up my game with applying eyeshadow colour and application. So I gained a lot of confidence, as the photos leading up to this glow up, testified to my hard work.

Therefore in my glow up makeup session, I added more intense eye colouring of more than one shade, and still blended like mad! I also added the eyeshadow to my bottom eye line, a brown/black kohl (layering the look) and a gold eyeliner on my waterline and at the inner corner of my eyes. I also darkened up my eyebrows a bit more, but kept to my shade of mid-brown.

I’ve also darkened my cheeks with bronzer and blush, because I needed to contour better, to give a flushed look to my face. And the biggest change I made was adding highlighter to the middle of my chin area. And not all over my chin, just literally at the centre part of my chin.

I feel, this is the best look overall, by far in terms of taking a photo, wearing eye-glasses and I am really pleased with the final look!

The intention for this year is:
I want to lean into the ‘Star’ vision of myself this year!